I’ve Come A Long Way- Literally

March 14, 2010 at 2:36 PM (Uncategorized)


I’m sorry I haven’t blogged in a while.  I was waiting on some interviews, but I never got the questions sent back.  Hopefully I will; I miss doing interviews.  The other reason why I haven’t blogged or been on any social medial outlet much is because I’ve been busy and my life has changed.

If someone would have told me early last year that I would move meet my soul mate and move to the other end of the country I would have told them that they were crazy!  Well, it did happen.  I want to go back and explain what happened from then to now so that you will get a better understanding. I guess I don’t need to offer any explanation or give any reason why I did what I did, but I want to share the story.

I leftPepsi back in February of 09′.  It was the best thing that ever happened to me.  I already made changes within myself by that point and was looking toward the future, but something was missing.  For a few years, since my trip to Boston, I felt that I needed to leave Ohio and go someplace new.  I would always convince myself that I was just crazy and everything you need is in central Ohio.  But, the nagging feeling kept creeping back up.  An old classmate,C, from Lincolnview found me on Facebook after Pepsi.  The funny thing was that we never really talked in High School.  I found him to be funny, kind, sweet and everything I wanted in a guy.  Of course I kept that to myself and from him for a while (but I think he knew anyway.)  We continued to converse, I got a new job and things seemed okay for a while.  I dated, was always disappointed and my old friend would comfort me.  He was going through the same things too; getting frustrated with dating.  I wasn’t happy at the new job.  C and I kept on conversing and realizing we have a lot in common and I would say to him: “Why do you have to live all the way out there?”  I then was laid off from the other job and started writing again, went to a bunch of concerts, turned 30 and enjoyed myself for the most part.  But, something was missing.  I continued to see people and still was frustrated and disappointed and deep down I knew the man for me was clear across the country.  Me and C began talking on the phone more and we both had strong feelings for each other.  I decided (rather my heart) to go out for a visit in October.  My heart was tugging me out there and I couldn’t deny it.  We both were nervous and scared.  I didn’t tell anyone that the real reason why I was going out there.  I figured it was  no one’s business.  I just said I had the time to do what I wanted and always wanted to go back and visit Washington.  When I was on the plane, looking out the window overlooking Washington a voice in my head told me I was home.  When I got off the plane and C met me, I just knew.  We fell in love (we started falling before that).  I didn’t want to go back to Ohio and I cried the whole way home.  A piece of my heart was on the other side of the country, but I knew I would be back.  I came back a month later and stayed a month and again, I had to come back to Ohio and didn’t want to.

Frankly, I was depressed.  I sat up in my room all  of the time, always on the computer, watching TV and cuddling my cats (except for the times I forced myself). Looking back, I realize I was depressed for a long time. (Even though I went to concerts and played kickball in the Fall).  My roommate tried to get me to go downstairs and hang out, but I never wanted to- I just didn’t want to be there (not only because I missed my love, but my place didn’t feel like “home”, “home” was with C).  The only thing I looked forward to was talking to C on the phone and longed for the day to see him again.  I wished I could teleport; I wanted to be able to be there in an instant.  I would sit there and try to figure out ways to get there.  I started selling my things on Craigslist and it was going very slow like a snail.  I wanted to be there by Feb; get enough money to afford a Uhaul, but unemployment was going to run out soon and no one was biting on my Craigslist ads.  Then, something happened (too personal) and I had to get there.  Katy was sympathetic to what was going on and offered to pay for my plane ticket.  I guess I knew I wasn’t coming back.  As soon as I touched down, and saw him, I knew that this is where I was supposed to be.  In a perfect world, I wanted to move out here with all of my things and get my own place.  But, with no money and still have to pay rent at the other place, it wasn’t possible.  My roommate was mad with my decision on not coming back.  I’m not going into the details, but, he has come around.  I’m getting my tax refund soon, so I’m using that to fly my cats out here- I miss them terribly.  My dad is selling my car and he is shipping some of my belongings out to me.  I do miss my friends, some of my things and some things about Columbus, but this is my home.  Things are just things, and they can be replaced.

My job is going well and it is good to finally get some money coming in.  I’m learning the city and finding my way around.  It is beautiful out here and will be venturing out to see more.  I’m not quite used to the weather yet; I seem to be always cold (lol)  and I’m looking forward to summer and swimming in the lake we live by.  I love seeing the mountains and on a clear day the sky is so beautiful and blue.  I hope I can make some friends of my own here soon and be able to go out with them, but it takes time for me to make friends.

I’m at peace now.  Of course, I will be better once my cats are here.  I’m not depressed anymore.  I feel more like myself now.  I’m not as insecure about myself; more comfortable in my own skin.  C is wonderful.  He’s supportive, loving, funny- just everything I’ve ever wanted.  He makes me feel beautiful.  I don’t want to sound Jerry McGuireish, but he completes me.  I love him more and more every day and I didn’t think that was possible.  I look forward to finding out new things about him and experiencing life together.  I know, like in every relationship, that it is not always going to be butterflies and rainbows, but this relationship will always be worth working on together.  He is “home”.  “Home is a feeling I buried in you.”  I will always love you C, you are my soul mate.  Through the good times and the bad, I will always support you and be by your side.  You are a part of my soul and my heart.

My biggest gratitude to Katy; thank you.  You made my dream come true.  We’ve been friends for a long time and knew what I needed.  Your generosity will ever be forgotten and hopefully soon, you can come out for a trip.

Always follow your heart and your gut.  Take chances and do something you don’t think you would normally do.  Life is short, make the most of it and don’t miss any opportunities, especially in love.

Misty

5 Comments

  1. Carey said,

    I’m so happy for you love! Hopefully i will find that person someday.

  2. Katie Plank Hurley said,

    Hey Misty!
    I just found your blog and your life has really changed! I’m very proud of you. I’m glad you are following your dream and that you’re writing again. I always knew you would write. My life has not cjanged as much as yours. David and I are just now settling down with our two kids.
    I’m also glad you found love. I never would of thought anybody from Lincolnview, especially Carl. I remember him always being soft spoken and down to earth in school. He never seemed to want conflict, which is good. I wish you two thw best of luck!
    I’m subscribing to your blog, but I’m not sure how it works. I’m still dumb with computers!

    Love and miss you,
    Katie

    • Misty Wilkins said,

      Hey girl! I haven’t been writing lately. I need to finish my novel, but haven’t felt the urge to finish it for some reason. Hopefully I will soon. Thanks hon, I love Carl with all of my heart- he is my soul mate; who would have thought? How is life out in Illinois? I sent you my # on Facebook, you should give me a call!

      I love and miss you too!

  3. JustKaty said,

    Lost all my links due to letting my blog expire. Geez girl. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

