Sounds Of Comfort-Bringing Back Memories

October 10, 2009 at 11:35 PM (Uncategorized)


A friend on Twitter mentioned something and it compelled me to write about it. Growing up, I was pretty much an only child.  I have an older half brother, but he lived with his mother, so I didn’t see him much.  My younger brother wasn’t born until I was almost 15.  I was alone a lot; when my parents were married, dad worked either 2nd or 3rd shift so I didn’t get to see him until the weekends (and when I did see him, I didn’t leave his side) and my mom, well, to be honest she really wasn’t there emotionally for me. I sought refuge in my room and my play-set in the backyard that dad built for me himself.  It was under a big tree next to the field that let to a small creek in the back. He hung a tire for me from that tree and the set had a balcony on the top and I could slide down a PVC pipe down from it.  I remember always being afraid of going down the slide because it was so high up; but I always managed to do it anyway and was so proud of myself afterwards. I also had a swing that I would swing on for hours and make up songs.  I think I made up those songs so I could feel comforted.  I would always go to my grandpa’s backyard right next door and play in the tool shed; I felt it was like my house and then I would go and sit underneath a big tree in his yard and watch the crop duster spray the fields. Then, eventually, I would venture back to the creek and walk along it to my uncle’s yard and sit on the bridge he made and then I would walk into the cornfields and take some baby corn to eat; it tasted so sweet. I would also visit grandpa Barney on occasion because he would always give me a sweet treat of some sort but I wouldn’t stay long because, well, he was the grumpy type. (RIP grandpa, I always know you meant well) Please, don’t feel any bit sorry for me; I also had my Great Aunt Mattie who took care of me often. (I miss you everyday)

But, at night, when I was in my room seeking solace and when I rested my head on my pillow and fall asleep I would hear the furnace kick on and it would make me smile. It would wake me up, but for some reason, the sound comforted me, made me feel safe and I always went back to sleep.  Even now, in the winter, when I hear the furnace, I smile. Maybe because even then, as a child, I knew everything would be alright eventually and I have to remind myself that now everything will be alright. I think as a child I knew more than I thought I did.

*My play set dad built for me was torn down about 10 years ago and I admit I cried when I saw it was gone…

My friend @Resarrection posted this: “The sound of the furnace reminds me of the night we lit the pilot & laying on the floor in the hall talking & laughing. Makes me smile.” & “I know exactly what you mean, makes me feel safe & warm, makes it feel like ‘home’.”

Thanks Resa, I thought I was the only one who felt that and it brought back memories.

Misty

3 Comments

  1. Resa said,

    Thank you for sharing this! This is the first time I’ve had a blower type furnace in 10 yrs & when it kicked on tonight I was stunned by the emotions it brought. I’m glad my happy memory brought back your happy memories 🙂

  2. Justin said,

    Great little post. The simple things in life are the best. I loved reading your memories. And I love the sound of heat coming on, comforting to me also…glad I am not weird or anything.

  3. Cynthia said,

    Nice post and thanks for sharing something so personal about yourself.

    Ah, I know what you mean. I’m the same way about furnace sounds. They draw on the emotions I had as a kid, sleeping under a warm blanket feeling cozy and safe.

    Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

