Knocking Out Diabetes- An Interview With Buster Douglas

August 27, 2009 at 5:09 PM (Interviews) (, , )


Buster and Garrett Morris *photo courtesy of Buster Douglas

Buster and Garrett Morris *photo courtesy of Buster Douglas

Former undisputed heavyweight champion Buster Douglas is a boxing legend. He caused one of the most surprising upsets in sports history when he knocked out undefeated champion Mike Tyson on February 11, 1990 in Tokyo, Japan; Buster was the underdog with 42-1 odds.  His mother died 23 days before, but she was with him that night and he has said he won because of and for his mother; his mother is what kept him going.  That fight changed his life forever and he had fame and fortune and with all of that came adversity.  With 38 wins and only 6 losses he was unstoppable until diabetes knocked him down. The loss of his mother sent him into a downworld spiral, he began to eat and drink to excess and gained 200 pounds.  He was nearly killed by a bout with diabetes; it sent him into a coma.

*Book cover courtesy of Buster Douglas

*Book cover courtesy of Buster Douglas

Buster got a second lease on life and made changes for his health. Many Americans suffer from Diabetes.  It is a struggle every day; trying to find the right foods and make the right decisions. Buster had the same issues, but survived and found a way to live with this disease with his new book, “Buster’s Backyard Bar-B-Q: Knockout Diabetes Diet”.  In it, he and his friend Tony Reynolds wants you to be able to live life to the fullest without the difficulty of Diabetes.  Tony also shares a heartfelt story about his father and his battle with Diabetes.

I had the pleasure to talk to Buster and Tony about their book, Buster’s life now, some other thoughts and how he wants others to be able to live a full life with the disease.

Diabetes almost killed you, a lot of Americans suffer from this disease, did this inspire you to write your book?

Yes, it all started at Tony’s house and him telling me about  his dad being a diabetic and what he went through and also discussed how big of an impact it (Diabetes) had been on my life.  We discussed the food and how it was an adjustment for me and then it all materialized and we went from there and started creating different recipes that I liked and what his father enjoyed and that is where it all came about.

What is your most favorite recipe in the book?

The Bar- B-Q Grilled Chicken

Have any of the people who have read your book told you that it has helped them?

Tony stated: Yes, there is a guy who is following Buster on Twitter; he emailed us and told us that he and his family make the Aloha Chicken and they eat that once a week and feel that it has helped them; has lowered their cholesterol as well. We have gotten a few emails from people who like the book and the recipes.

In fact, at this year’s Memorial Tournament, Dan Sullivan, who is one of the executive directors, actually tasted the BBQ sauce on the wings and said he will start serving that at the tournament.

Are you thinking about opening up a restaurant here in Columbus Ohio for people with diabetes?

It will be more about the sauce, we are going to market it; there are talks about getting it out there.

Do you do any exercises to help your condition?

I have a treadmill and I try to do that 2 or 3 times a week for 45 minutes.

Where can your book be bought?

It is sold mainly through Amazon

You were in a movie called Pluto’s Plight; did you enjoy being in the movie and will we see you in any more movies in the future?

I enjoyed doing that movie, there was a lot of pride in it.  Yes, I do plan on getting involved with some more projects, but right now I am focusing on promoting my book.  I do want to get back out there and do some more movies.

You have never left Ohio, it’s always been your home and I’ve read where you been helping your community where you grew up; how are you helping?

Right now, it is about spreading the word about being healthy; living a healthier life.  It is such a challenge in these times because here in America we have such a wide variety of foods we eat; we can eat 24 hours a day and I am trying to shed some light on the disadvantages of overeating and how awful it can be.  We need to exercise and eat correctly.  When I stopped fighting, I had to make an adjustment on how to make my life better as far as eating and drinking.  I got a second chance on life.

What do you look forward to every day?

Getting out and being productive, thinking about being positive and living life to the fullest.

What is your inspiration?

My mother and father.  Now I have a family, I appreciate them more every day; all the things that my parents had to go through to put a roof over our heads and to provide for us.

What hobbies do you enjoy?

I like tinkering with my automobiles; I have a classic 1970 Chevy.  I like being with my sons; getting involved in their lives-the activities they participate in.

Are your sons going to fall in your footsteps with boxing.

Well, right now, I don’t think so. They are playing football and basketball.  My oldest son is starting his own family now.

Do you enjoy being a grandfather?  Do you spoil your grandchildren a lot?

Yes, it’s cool!  (Tony mentions that he spoils the grandchildren a lot; he is really good with kids)

The UFC and Mixed Martial Arts is very prevalent right now.  What is your opinion on it?  Do you feel that it is overshadowing boxing?

No, not at all. It is just another form of entertainment and talent.  These guys use their hands and their feet; there is a lot to look out for.

Are you suffering any ailments from your previous boxing career?

No, I have no injuries related to boxing; I am thankful every day.


* If you are like me; you either know someone in your family or a close friend that has Diabetes.  This book is a must read for them and you to better understand the disease and how you can enjoy food and take back your life.  I found it very imformative and heartfelt. I will be giving this book as a gift to others and I hope you do too.  Let’s help Buster spread the word and help us make better, healthier choices in our lives.

Please join Buster’s Backyard Bar-B-Q party here: http://iambuster.ning.com/ It is intended for people who are interested in Diabetes awareness or friends to come share info.

You can order “Buster’s Backyard Bar-B-Q: Knockout Diabetes Diet” here on Amazon: http://amzn.com/1442145862

You can also follow Buster on Twitter! http://twitter.com/iambuster






4 Comments

  1. Tom Barnes said,

    Nice interview! I can’t believe it was almost 20 years ago that he beat Tyson, seems like it just happened. And I really didn’t even know about his battle with Diabetes, glad you brought that to light.

  2. Carey said,

    Yay! Great interview!
    I actually had heard of Buster Douglas but I had no idea who he was or what he was even famous for! LOL I told you that I didn’t know sports! Diabetes is very prevalent in our society today. It’s because of the way we eat and not enough exercise. My Dad has Type 2 Diabetes too! I may have to get the book for my parents!
    Great job again, my dear girl!
    xoxo
    😉

  3. jessi said,

    great interview cuz.

  4. soulmate47 said,

    Great questions Misty. Great interview. Enjoy reading all of your blogs. Looking forward to more. Catch you on the tweet.

Leave a Reply

