My Passion Has Returned-Ignite My Flames

August 18, 2009 at 10:10 PM (Life Lessons, Uncategorized)



pen

Ever since I could remember, I loved to read.  I started reading at a very young age and big books at that.  In school, there was this program called “Book-It” which was a reading incentive program.  I always exceeded my reading goal and was awarded with a free pizza from Pizza Hut.

When I was in the 4th grade, I had a teacher, Mrs. Dues, who was a big inspiration for me.  She encouraged my talents and from that, I began to write and draw.  I won awards with my writing and was very proud of my accomplishments.  I was always writing; penning every aspiration, imagination and experiences.  I excelled in English and Writing classes and couldn’t get enough.  I even took 4 years of college prep English in high school and received straight A’s.

I am sorry to admit that after I graduated and moved to Columbus, I slowly got out of my writing; it seemed like I lost the passion.  See, my 20’s were a very hard time for me.  I lost my direction.  I eventually  received an Associates Degree in Business Management because I felt I needed “something”.  Tired of working in retail, I got the opportunity to work in an office.  Then, after a few years of experience, I became an Administrative Assistant.  I seriously thought that is what I wanted to do.  I got really good at what I did; I am a fast learner who can excel at any thing I put my mind to.  But, after awhile, I noticed a few things weren’t right.

I found myself struggling with the fact that people wanted me to be who I am not.  I really started finding myself in my 20’s; learning who I really was.  My personality wasn’t meshing well in the office setting.  I now realize that the universe was telling me something.  Time and time again, I was pushed against the wall and was left defending myself all of the time. My final days at Pepsi were bad, but yet a blessing for me.  I knew my 5 years there was at an end.  When my last day came, I smiled because it was the end of me being unhappy and not myself.  Then, I received another administrative job and, yes, it worked for awhile, but I was not satisfied.  It was then when I started to write again.  I decided I wanted to open a book store someday (still do) because I know a lot about books and am still an avid reader, then my focus shifted to my writing.  Yes, I have written things here and there, but not with passion.

After the Collective Soul concert, I was inspired.  I decided to write again.  I can’t explain why or how Collective Soul inspired me, I just know.  Like I said before, “Shine” is a main song of my life and I decided to write: Music is the Soundtrack to My Life surrounded by that very song.  From that point on, I didn’t stop.  I felt comfortable.  I found out that my words inspire others.  That is what I want.  I realized my talent is still there.

My last job didn’t work out as I knew it wouldn’t.  Being an AA is not what I am meant to do.  I am unemployed right now for a reason.  It gives me time to write and relect on where I want to go and what I really want to do.  This is my calling – my destiny.

I want to continue to interview people, write about my experiences, write about other things I am passionate about, and you know what?  I can be me.

Thank you to all of those who support and believe in me.  You have no idea how much it means to me.  I cry with happiness.

Misty

2 Comments

  1. Tom Barnes said,

    Bravo, Misty!
    I have a lot of faith that you’ll get what you shoot for, I pray that it all works out for you. I like what you’ve written so far; I hope to read much more, especially that novel!

  2. Carey said,

    Writing is what you are meant to do. I know you will be a success at it! You are an awesome girl and you know i love you and your writing! I am so lucky to have ‘met’ you!
    All of my best wishes are with you dear girl!
    😉

Leave a Reply

