The Wallflowers Concert Newport Music Hall, 7.30.09

August 1, 2009 at 2:49 PM (Music, Concerts)


Wallflowers picMy senior year in high school was a pivotal point in my life.  I was figuring out what I wanted to do, where I wanted to go and was chasing my latest crush.  I was excited and scared about the next point in  my life.  I was working at Kmart at the time and floating through my classes because it was my last year.  I spent a lot of time listening to music, especially in my car while I took expeditions of country cruises on the back roads.  That year I discovered The Wallflowers.  “6th Avenue Heartache” came on the radio and I immediately turned it up and I couldn’t get enough of it!  I ran out and bought Bringing Down the Horse and played the cd over and over again.  This Grammy Award album brought us songs like:  “One Headlight”, “The Difference” and “Three Marlena’s”.   They also did a hit cover of  David Bowie’s “Heroes” for the Godzilla soundtrack that was a smash hit.

The Wallflowers now consists of front-man Jakob Dylan, the son of Bob Dylan, Stuart Mathis, guitarist, Fred Eltringham, drummer, Greg Richling, bassist and Rami Jaffee, keyboardist.  The Wallflowers  are from Los Angeles, California and were formed in 1989 and having originally gone as The Apples the ensemble has gone through numerous personnel changes with Dylan the only constant.  The band started in 1989 in Los Angeles’s clubs. Their self-titled debut album was released in 1992 on the Virgin Records label. Although praised by critics, it only sold 40,000 copies initially, but has sold an estimated 1,000,000 to date.

I never saw The Wallflowers before and didn’t want to miss the opportunity this time around.  Because I wanted to be in the front row, I sat outside for almost four hours to get that chance!  I met many cool fans while waiting, even met a woman who is actually from Boston who is following the band from city to city. AndI  got hit on by passer-bys and a few homeless men asked me for money.  My friends finally joined me and I couldn’t wait for them to understand why I waited that long to be in the front row.  Being in the front row gives you the best view, the best sound and the best experience.  As we were waiting, the bass player Greg came out and talked to me for a bit and asked me the closest, best place to eat.  I immediately could tell he was a nice, fun guy and my anxiousness began to brew more.

Finally, it was time to go in.  I ran/walked up to the front and had a couple of drinks of Jack and Coke and my buzz ensued.  I was AT the stage, I could rest my arms on top of it!  If you do not know of the Newport Music Hall.  It is  “America’s Longest Continually Running Rock Club”.  Newport Music Hall was formerly known as the State Theater and, in the 1970s, as the Agora Ballroom. The hall seats around 1200 and most of the original decor is intact. It is one of the many music venues on High Street in Columbus.  They have not done much renovations and it has that quaint old feel that brings much character to a concert.

Serena RyderThe opening act was Serena Ryder.  I didn’t know what to expect.  From my experience, I really haven’t been satisfied with opening acts.  Serena was by herself with just her guitars and as soon as she sang, I was taken aback.  She blew me away.  Her voice was soulful and powerful.  I could feel the love she had for her music and her lyrics were very important to her.  She sang songs like, “A Little Bit of Red”, “Sing, Sing” which she used her feet as drums as she stomped on the stage, and “Melancholy Blue”.  The crowed loved her and she was amazed about our enthusiasm.

Serena Ryder is s a Juno Award-winning Canadian singer/songwriter and guitarist who grew up in Millbrook, Ontario.  Ranging musically between folk, roots, country, and adult contemporary, Ryder possesses a three-octave range. She attended the Integrated Arts Program at Peterborough Collegiate and Vocational Institute in Peterborough as well as Crestwood Secondary School. As a teenager, she performed solo as well as with many bands from the Peterborough area, including Christian band Thousand Foot Krutch and Jive recording artist Three Days Grace.

Now, it was time for The Wallflowers.  I could feel the excitement and I couldn’t wait.  I really didn’t know what to expect.  Sometimes a band you love is not as good live.  All my expectations went out the window when they came onstage.

Wallflowers2

The Wallflowers are incredible.  Jakob Dylan’s gritty, fervent voice accompanied with his brilliant band did not disappoint. They played some newer songs;  “The Beautiful Side of Somewhere”, “God Says Nothing Back”, and of course their older songs” “6th Avenue Heartache”, “One Headlight” and “The Difference” which the whole crowd sang along with.  Jakob interacted with his fans, talking and pointed to us and was astounded by our enthusiasm and love. When they played “Three Marlena’s” he invited two lucky fans to come onstage to sing and dance with him.  Another girl ran on the stage and the security crew were going to make her get off of it, but Jakob waved them away and hugged her.  I was memorized by this concert, their music, Jakob Dylan’s voice and energy.  I closed my eyes a few times and let the notes take me away.  This by far, is one of the best concerts I have ever been to.

Wallflowers1

I wasn’t going to miss the opportunity to meet the band, so me and my friend Tim walked to the back and waited for them to come out..  As we were waiting and as the drizzle of rain touched my skin I talked to a few of the fans and the roadies and the one did some pantomimes for me!  One by one, the band members came out and I got their autographs, talked to them for a bit and got my pictures taken with them.  Jakob finally came out, came straight to me, said he loves Columbus, signed my ticket and took a picture.  I was in heaven.  A band that I have adored since I was in high school is right here in front of me.  I will never forget this night; great friends, great fans, beautiful music and the notes still ringing in my head.

Me and Jakob Dylan

Jakob Dylan may be Bob Dylan’s son; grew up in a very large shadow, but paved his own way with his own sound and his own ideas and became one of the biggest bands in our generation.

Thank you Jakob Dylan and The Wallfowers for a  memorable night.        autographs

4 Comments

  1. Derek M. Sheldon said,

    WONDERFUL content…great information!

  2. Derek M. Sheldon said,

    I dont know if last one posted…Love the article great content…awesome easy read! I felt like I was there!

  3. Carey said,

    Hey Misty! Another great review! So happy for you having these awesome experiences! 😉

  4. Cathy (catstrak) said,

    Misty, another great concert review!!

Leave a Reply

