Mirror

July 26, 2009 at 12:28 AM (Poetry)


Thoughtless and listless

confused by a sadness

or is it relief?

Not sure how to feel,

my mind goes back and forth

Am I sad for the good times?

Or am I sad for times that will never be again?

Shall I lie to myself?

Shall I creep in the darkness, fumbling for answers in the dark confines of my soul?

Will I ever know?

Am I beautiful or ugly?

I feel the latter

Not going to change for any soul,

Need to feel beautiful

Haven’t felt beauty in months,

break a mirror

watch it fall into tiny pieces,

then pick up the glass

and maybe put them back together again,

will I then be whole again?

*Originally written September 30th, 2007

2 Comments

  1. tammymstephens said,

    Beautiful poem Misty, remember…you are beautiful, I have the pictures to prove it! 🙂

  2. Tom Barnes said,

    I really like ‘Mirror’.It’s dark, and sad, but has hope. You really dig into your psyche, and bring out your true feelings I can tell exactly what you were feeling when you wrote it.. Very nicely done.

Leave a Reply

