Determination and Self Love

July 26, 2009 at 3:44 PM (Uncategorized)


I have been through a lot in my life. Because of that, I am who I am today. From an early age I learned responsibility, determination and to never, ever give up. Of course, during the hard times I do and have been down on myself for a little while, and have asked, “why me?” but then, I know I will make it through because I believe in myself and what I can do. People have tried to get me down, and yes, I admit, I have let them get to me, things have happened, some very bad and I have made it through. I have prayed many times, and I still do to help me get through the hard times and the good times.
When I lost my job I knew it was meant to be. I kept on telling myself I will get a job. I really didn’t have to worry about money for the time-being because I had options that I didn’t know I had, and I think someone upstairs took care of me, and He always will. My determination and persistence paid off and now I have a job that looks to have growth potential and the opportunity to become something more.
I try to write in my journal every day and focus on short and long term goals. I find that writing down your needs/goals helps you achieve them faster. Even if you don’t have a journal, write something down you want and put it away for a few months, then go back to it- you will be surprised! (thank you Katy for that advice)
I am slowly learning patience. I was never really good at it, I guess you can say it has never been a virtue of mine. But slowly, I am learning to be patient. As I have said before, we are constantly changing and growing and that it is a part of life. If you don’t recognize this fact, you can never become a better person for yourself and others. YOU are important. If you can’t make yourself happy, then you can’t be happy with others or with life. Time does heal all wounds and your mistakes are learning tools.
I started 2009 making a lot of changes and the end of the habits that kept dragging me down. I feel better with my new positive attitude and thinking.

“Everything Happens For a Reason” no matter how small.

*Originally written April 9th, 2009

1 Comment

  1. Carey said,

    A saying I heard once : When life gives you lemons, make grape juice and let the world ask how you did it!

    You can accomplish anything you set your mind towards. I thought at first losing my job was a bad thing, but I know now that I couldn’t have had the opportunities that are there now, had it not happened the way I did.

    You can get through the hard times. You are strong and beautiful!

    My Dad always tells me ” Don’t let the bastards get you down.” True, that! There are always going to be those who put you down for having dreams. That’s only because they don’t have any. Don’t let them get to you for long.

    You can survive this!

    You are an awesome writer and I love reading your work. I wanted to comment on all your writings as a whole but this will work.
    Nothing but love for ya! ❤

Leave a Reply

