To My Father on Father’s Day

July 25, 2009 at 11:56 PM (Uncategorized)


dad and me

I am a daddy’s girl; always have been and always will be.  Without dad, I don’t think I would be who I am today.  My mom was absent emotionally for me and dad worked either 2nd or 3rd shift.  Because of that, I wouldn’t see dad much until the weekend.  I looked forward to the weekend.  I followed dad everywhere; whether it was to the hardware store, the garage; well, practically everywhere.  I was like a puppy.  My parents got divorced when I was 9 years old and I don’t remember much at that time, but I do remember seeing dad on the weekends and going on trips, going to the movies and even concerts together.  He was my world and still is.

My dad Steve is much laid back, strong, has a great sense of humor and just a great man. He likes to joke around and plays jokes on people, especially his wife; it’s all in good fun!  He would do anything for anyone. I don’t see him often, but we talk regularly and I do miss him.

About 2 years ago, he was diagnosed with Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma.  I remember the call…  I knew something was wrong when I saw him a month before.  He lost a lot of weight and told me he just can’t keep the weight on. I was devastated.  I cried and he told me not to. I found out later it was in stage 4…  He was my world, what would I do without him?  But, I knew he would beat this.  I knew he would come out on top!  He and we kept positive.  He didn’t quit working, he took his treatments, changed his eating habits, continued with his hobbies, but at a slower pace.  With all of or support and his determination, he beat it; he went into remission after 5 months of being diagnosed!  I thank Cassie, his wife, for getting him through it.  Without her, I don’t think he would have been able to beat it that fast.  She has been a light in that dark time for him.  Now, he takes monthly treatments so the cancer doesn’t come back.

My dad is my hero, my strength and my inspiration.  Having him as a father is such a gift.  I couldn’t ask for a better father.  I hope his story is an inspiration for others.

I love you dad, more than anything.  Happy Father’s Day!

Love,

Misty

*Originally written on June 21st, 2009

Leave a Reply

