Music May Change, The Message Remains the Same

July 25, 2009 at 11:03 PM (Music, Concerts)


Music_In_My_Soul_by_Qinni

Music… It is a part of our lives. We live, breathe and taste it. Since the dawn of time, music was always prevalent and it has always changed into something new and different. From cavemen beating on rocks and animal skins, tribes dancing to rhythms of steps, the emergence of rock and roll in the 50’s to the music we have today.
Do you remember when you were younger and you were listening to a certain band and you parents told you to turn it down and tell you: “It is giving me a headache! Music isn’t what it used to be! When we were your age…”? Yes, we have all had that happen. Then you realize now that you are doing the same thing? Personally, I don’t care for some of the music that is out right now for example, Miley Cyrus or The Jonas Brothers. It makes me want to change the station. Then, I remember when I was younger I would listen to The New Kids on the Block.

There is always an emergence of new music and there is always music that will be “cookie cutter” trying to keep up with the current of the times. But also, there will always be a new sound. In the 90’s, I was sitting at my grandparents’ house during the holidays and Nirvana’s “Smells Like Teen Spirit” video came on MTV (back when MTV actually played music videos) and it was a new sound. I never heard it before and wasn’t sure if I liked it. Grunge was born. It became a phenomenon that can still be heard today, that lead to Alternative music. I came to love it. I fell in love with Soundgarden, Pearl Jam and my favorite band, Collective Soul. It became prevalent in my life. My parents didn’t like it and I am sure yours did not either.

But, if you think about this, it has always been that way. People protested against Rock and Roll, they thought Jazz was the devil’s music and disco was called silly. Looking back, all of these genres have become an important part of our history.

So when your children play a certain song loud, embrace it. They are finding their muse; the sound they relate to. Put yourself in their shoes. You may find yourself liking it and singing along and dancing with them. Just remember what your parents told you and thought that they were silly. Also know that music will always change but yet stay the same. I wonder what the next 20 years will bring us? I can’t wait to find out!

Also was posted on: http://dereksheldon.blogspot.com/2009/07/music-may-change-message-remains-same.html

Leave a Reply

