Music is The Soundtrack To Our Lives

July 25, 2009 at 10:04 PM (Music, Concerts)


Music_Notes_

Have you ever been driving in your car lost in thought because of the mundane road ahead and suddenly a song comes on the radio and it takes you back to a moment in time in your life? You start to smile, then sing along and in those minutes you are back in that memory.

It is hard to remember everything that has happened in our lives. We can’t remember every minute or every day, but we remember moments. Those moments are most reflected by music. Music is the soundtrack to our lives. It gets us, grabs our soul and whispers sweet nothings in our ears. Music is what gets us through the hard times, helps us celebrate the good times and connects to our souls through the resonation of poetry. There is always a song in a particular moment of time that we can relate to and wonder if it was written for us.

I can remember being down one day and I did not think of anything that would make me feel better. I was lonely, distressed and confused. Then, “Black Hole Sun” by Soundgarden came on the radio. I was instantly transformed to 1994. It was the summer of love and transformation for me. I was in my boyfriend’s blue 1969 Chevy Nova driving by the lake with the windows down. That song was playing, the wind was in my hair and my head was on his shoulder. I could smell the lake as the breeze blew in and the laughter of my friends in the back seat. I looked up at my boyfriend and saw the love in his eyes that I thought was forever. He carved our names in the back seat that day…

Whether you listen to rock,rap, pop, heavy metal or country ranging from The Cars to The Black Eyed Peas and Garth Brooks, you have the time machine in your heart that can take you back; to make you feel, see and remember all those preciousmoments in your life. The music you are listening to now could perhaps be the song that comes on in the future taking you back to this very moment.

Collective Soul- Shine

Also was posted on:  http://dereksheldon.blogspot.com/2009/07/music-soundtrack-to-our-lives.html

Leave a Reply

