In Rememberance For Mother’s Day

July 25, 2009 at 11:46 PM (Uncategorized)


From the day I was born, my Great Aunt Mattie was there.  She was the one who found the extra digit as she was giving me a bath.  She took care of me a lot.  I spent a lot of time at her house.  She would take me for weeks at a time; take me to school, make sure I got my homework done, fed me and clothed me.  I cherished the times where she would take me to what we called the “junk store”, which was a thrift store and to the mall in Lima where we would sit by the fountain and eat our warm pretzels.  She would tell me stories of her life in Kentucky before I went to bed and lay with me until I went to sleep and sometimes slept beside me.  She kept all of my school work and took me wherever I needed to go. She also took care of everyone.  She was so giving and caring but also made sure everyone was walking the line!

I always told her I loved her and when I moved away we still would talk and she would send me money sometimes.  She was such a strong woman and stubborn! When I heard she passed, I couldn’t breathe.  I didn’t know what to do without her in my life.  I talked to her the night before and told her I loved her not knowing it would be our last time we talked.  I felt a piece of my heart break at that moment.  She was like my mother, actually more than a mother than my own.  I wish I could see her one more time and tell her how much she means to me.

I now have seen her in my dreams and she told me not to cry.  I feel her sometimes and I know she checks in on me.  I hope she knows how much I love her and miss her and how I need her so badly.

Aunt Mattie, I love you so much and I miss you terribly.  You helped shape me into who I am now.  You did so much for me and I will always cherish the time we had together.  I will always have that picture of you up and always remember your smile and the brightness you brought into my life.  You were the best mother and I hope someday if and when I have children of my own that I will be a good as a mother as you were.

Love,

Misty

*Originally written May 9th, 2009

Leave a Reply

